5. Task Actions
From Dbvisit standby 9.0.14, there are new improvements in task actions, statuses and flexibility. Below are the changes
5.1 Terminate Task Button
All active tasks now come with a terminate task button. When you press this button on any active task, it would kill the task.
If a Task is terminated at any time, either by using the new button above or manually from the CLI, it will now be reported in the GUI as follows and Signal 9 is what is used for the Terminate button, if the user can specify a different signal when manually killing a Task, it will display here accordingly. It should no longer be possible to have “floating” Tasks that are actually no longer available.
5.2 No update on Tasks - Stuck Tasks
If a task suddenly stops being updated for any reason, Dbvisit central console detects this and displays like below
Note the new orange Task icon type - this is used for Stuck tasks. Any stuck Task is force-refreshed every 10 seconds, e.g. if it wasn’t updating due to a network fault, it will again begin updating automatically. Note also that the Task is not greyed-out, because we’re assuming at this point that it is still active, we just can’t see it.
If you click on a Task that is marked as not updating, you will see the following details:
5.3 Incomplete Information Task
If dbvagent is shut down in any way (including a crash) while a Task is active, the Task process itself will most likely continue (i.e. the dbvctl execution). However, all Task progress after the Agent crashes is lost. This means that anything that happens after an Agent crash is unavailable to us. Thus, we introduce a new Task type: the Incomplete Information Task.
While the Agent is down, any active Task from it can only be reported as Stuck (as above), because until the Agent becomes available again we cannot access any information about the Task at all. However, once dbvagent comes back (e.g. is manually restarted), we can now detect that a particular Task has incomplete information, i.e. we don’t know how it ended. When this happens, the Task is displayed like this:
If you click on this Task, you will see this:
Note the new orange border, unique to this Task type, and the warning message at the top. All available information prior to the Agent crash/termination is now preserved. Note also the final line, indicating the point at which the Agent went down, after which no progress information could be captured.